Abu Dhabi updates green list to include 29 destinations, including US, Germany

Japan, Portugal, Russia, Switzerland, and the UK are among the countries added, starting April 25

Abu Dhabi has updated its ‘green list’ destinations to include 29 countries in total, up from 23 in the previous update.

Passengers arriving from the ‘green list’ destinations are exempt from mandatory quarantine measures after landing in Abu Dhabi and will only be required to undergo PCR testing upon arrival at Abu Dhabi airport.

The countries added to the list since the last update issued on April 25 include the US, Germany, Switzerland, Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan and Moldova, the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi (DCT Abu Dhabi) said in a statement.

The list only applies to countries passengers are arriving from rather than citizenship.

Earlier this month, senior DCT Abu Dhabi officials had revealed plans to lift all quarantine measure for international travellers arriving in the emirate from July 1.

Media reports indicated the quarantine restrictions will be lifted for passengers from all countries, except India, by July 1.

Updated ‘green list’ as of May 23, 2021

🇦🇺 Australia

🇦🇿 Azerbaijan

🇧🇹 Bhutan

🇧🇳 Brunei

🇨🇳 China

🇨🇺 Cuba

🇩🇪 Germany

🇬🇱 Greenland

🇭🇰 Hong Kong (SAR)

🇮🇸 Iceland

🇮🇱 Israel

🇯🇵 Japan

🇰🇬 Kyrgyzstan

🇲🇺 Mauritius

🇲🇻 Moldova

🇲🇦 Morocco

🇳🇿 New Zealand

🇵🇹 Portugal

🇷🇺 Russia

🇸🇦 Saudi Arabia

🇸🇬 Singapore

🇰🇷 South Korea

🇪🇸 Spain

🇨🇭 Switzerland

🇹🇼 Taiwan (ROC)

🇹🇯 Tajikistan

🇬🇧 United Kingdom

🇺🇸 United States of America

🇺🇿 Uzbekistan

Countries, regions and territories included on the list will be regularly updated based on international developments, DCT Abu Dhabi said.

“Inclusion in the list is subject to strict criteria of health and safety to ensure the well-being of the UAE community,” it added.

DCT Abu Dhabi will also continue to issue updates on the list and overall travel status in the coming months.